Choppy Waters Ahead

I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything quite like what’s been happening with American Girl lately. The ship has a new captain and I feel like she’s more concerned with charging full steam ahead than taking notice of the conditions around her.

After my last post, I saw the perma-pantied #55 that’s been making the rounds on social media – lumpy butt, squishable vinyl, and all (just check out American Girl’s visitor posts on Facebook if you haven’t seen it yet). Had the new permanent underwear been the same build as the current doll butts (with the horizontal seam), I probably would’ve come around in time, but the new doll butt looks like it can easily lose shape – and in the case of the unfortunate #55, can instead look like she’s packin’ a poop.

It was the squishable vinyl that  really got me worried. It’s one thing to avoid the dolls that will be getting perma-pantied – Maryellen, Melody, Julie, the TrulyMe’s and future contemporary dolls – but it’s another to avoid something universal like vinyl type.

Sienna

Sienna stares off into the horizon, wondering which direction AG’s senses went.

Tonight I ordered what may end up being my final doll purchase directly from American Girl. I recently got a gift card that I was hoping to hold onto for awhile and put towards either furniture or clothing for my dolls, but instead I decided to get one more Josefina mold doll – just in case the vinyl change is permanent or worse changes surface in the future. I got Rebecca, with plans to turn her into another custom (that is, as long as I end up with a version that has the good vinyl – otherwise, she’s getting sent back).

It’s sad, though. I never thought I’d be ordering a doll just to make sure I didn’t end up with a bad one later. For me, the sense of urgency comes from watching my first favorite 18″ doll line, Magic Attic Club, go downhill in a hurry after Marie Osmond bought it. The Allison doll I bought after she’d altered the line was definitely not the same quality of the original Magic Attic Club line. I don’t want to end up in a similar situation with American Girl.

I’m hoping at some point American Girl will come to their senses and prioritize maintaining the quality their customers have come to expect, but judging from their responses on social media – including blaming a customer for a doll that AG’s quality control team missed – I feel like it’s going to be awhile.JenniferSig

12 thoughts on “Choppy Waters Ahead

  1. This whole situation is so sad and yet disturbing at the same time. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it’s like watching a train wreck. People are abandoning the company in droves and they don’t seem to care. I hope your Rebecca is fine, she is such a pretty doll!

    • It is! And instead of posting something about “We hear you, we’re checking into these reported issues,” etc., they’re like “Oh well, we’ll just post about our new dolls and they’ll forget everything.” I don’t think they would’ve released images of SO many dolls all at once if they weren’t worried people were done with the company.

  2. Thanks for your post and great pix of Sienna. Then AG decides to one-up us with pictures of a new face mold. It’s like they are dealers and they know just how to lure a junkie back into the fold.

    • I KNOW! They really are like dealers! “Oh, you think you’re done with buying dolls, huh? Well… look at THIS!” I’m glad people are now posting the video of that #55, so people realize that even though these new dolls are cute, they might have the same crappy manufacturing.

  3. I know what you mean, Jennifer about that sense of urgency and wanting to try to grab the dolls now! I just ordered Addy last week and I am so upset because I still have so many on my wishlist and there is just no way I will be able to get them before this change goes into effect. I know buying on eBay is always an option, but people already charge more for a new to new-ish doll than AG already charges on the website. I’m sure that will just go up as these new bodies roll out. I don’t know…it’s sad. 😦 I agree about not wanting to support this company due to their total lack of listening to the customer so I guess I’ll just have to keep my eyes open for some good deals in the future on the secondhand market and just be happy with what I have for now! It’s just not worth it to pay that kind of money for such crappy quality.

    • Yeah, exactly! There were other TrulyMe dolls I wanted to get, but not if they’re going to be like this… I agree, I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before people start really jacking up the prices on eBay dolls. I really hope AG will reconsider this decision. Or better yet, I hope other 18″ doll companies start to give them a real run for their money. Maybe that will make them a bit more concerned with customer opinion.

    • I think Felicity might be spared! I’ve seen AG comment on Facebook about the perma-panty change only affecting dolls set in the 1950’s to present day. It’s hard to tell whether Nanea will have the panties – I think AG has given mixed messages with her.

  4. Pingback: AG, We Want You Back. | Buzz About AG

Leave a Reply

