Blogger Recognition Award!

Blogger Recognition Award

Meg of Canadian Doll Notebook (https://canadiandollnotebook.com/) nominated MINI MAD for a Blogger Recognition Award! Thank you, Meg!! 🙂

Award recipients have to follow these six rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  2. Write a post to show your award
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  5. Select 15 other bloggers for this award
  6. Comment on each blog to let them know you nominated them and link to the post you created.

Here are my answers!

How MINI MAD Started

Saige - Girl of the Year 2013

photo: American Girl (archived)

Backstory time! I’ve always loved collecting small, cute things – from Barbies and their accessories, to Japanese toys like Nendoroids and Re-Ment sets, to 18″ dolls. When I was younger, I had a couple outfits from American Girl, but it wasn’t until late 2013 when I really started to get into the American Girl collecting fandom. My mom had mentioned wanting a Saige doll for Christmas, and while my husband and I were in the process of getting one for her, I started reading American Girl collector forums and collectors’ blogs. Before I knew it, I was hooked and debating which doll to get as my very first American Girl doll! Not long after that, I started MINI MAD as a place to house photos and stories of my collections and any projects relating to them. I originally planned to have a variety of things, but over time I realized I was having more fun showcasing American Girl-related items than anything else, so it became an American Girl-centric blog.

Advice to New Bloggers

1. Think “fun first” – don’t worry about how often you post or whether or not you think the content will get you a lot of views/likes/etc. It’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking “I need to post something or I’ll lose followers!” or “Everyone else is commenting about this – I should, too!” Post when you have something you want to blog about. Don’t let it start to feel like work – blogs should be about sharing how you like to have fun with your collection!

2. Try to use natural light as much as possible when taking photos for your blog. This isn’t always easy – for myself, I work during peak-photo-taking-light hours, so I usually have to wait until the weekend to take photos for my blog. It’s worth it, though! Natural light often produces nicer photos than using flash.

Your Turn!

I’m going to bend the rules slightly here and invite anyone who would like to participate!

Thanks again for nominating me, Meg! 🙂JenniferSig

One thought on “Blogger Recognition Award!

Leave a Reply

