OOTD – Layered Looks

Outfits of the Day – Noelle and Arista

Let me start by saying THANK YOU to Meg from Canadian Doll Notebook for nominating MINI MAD for a Blogger Recognition Award! I’ll be making my post soon! 🙂

Man! It’s only been two weeks since I last posted, but I feel like a lot has happened in those two weeks!

I’ve made some changes to my doll collection. After a lot of thought, I decided to sell my Isabelle doll. I really struggled with the decision because she was my very first American Girl doll. But at the same time, I’ve realized that I was drawn to her more for her collection (and probably the excitement of the Girl of the Year) than the doll itself. I mean, even going back and re-reading the entry where I talked about getting her, I can tell that’s the case. Anyway, I’d been feeling bad that I hadn’t really used her in a display or a photoshoot in months, and I thought this would be a good solution. I was able to put the money from selling her, as well as some other money I’d saved up, towards another doll – one that I’ve been wanting to get for awhile now – Cecile! I can’t wait until she gets here!

I’ve also been attempting to take more photos of my dolls outside of the display case – which also means figuring out how to setup and photograph my dolls while a certain needy kitten is demanding my undivided attention lol. I think Darcy gets a little jealous! But then I turn my camera on him and he suddenly has other things to do. 😉

Anyway, I managed to get a few shots of Arista and Noelle this past Sunday – my brown-eyed girls!

Arista and Noelle

Selfie time in our Layered Looks!

Tops: Arista – Truly Me Lilac Dress; Noelle – Grace’s Meet Shirt, Truly Me Denim Jacket

Bottoms: Arista – Playful Print Skirt with pink tights; Noelle – Skirt from the Love to Layer Accessories set, Grace’s black shorts

Shoes: Arista – Truly Me turquoise ballet flats; Noelle – Grace’s silver bow sandals

Accessories: Arista – Kanani’s flower hair clip, poodle necklace from Magic Attic Club, Brownie Ombre GlassesNoelle – headband from Grace’s baking outfit

Noelle

Perfect for Twirling!

I know I already had Noelle in this outfit in the previous post, but I absolutely LOVE how she looks in it! Magenta and indigo look so good with her medium skin tone, and I like pairing such a sporty-looking jacket with a girly skirt. It’s amazing how photogenic #62 is, too! I’m so happy I have her!

Arista

Blooms and Bows

For Arista’s outfit, I actually started with her glasses. They’re so subtle, I wanted to make sure they didn’t get lost by anything too bold. I knew I wanted to use the print skirt, but couldn’t find anything that really went with it… until I tried Noelle’s Truly Me dress! The colors work together perfectly!

I’m hoping this weekend I can put together a better photo setup. I bought a foam tri-fold poster last weekend (yay for 60% off coupons at Michael’s!). It’ll either become a better den or maybe even a kitchen! XD
JenniferSig

13 thoughts on “OOTD – Layered Looks

  1. Cute! It’s fun to mix and match the different things to see how they go together.

    Who do you have left now? Obviously Arista and Noelle–I know you rehomed a couple of dolls. I’ve been contemplating eliminating a couple of characters from my group, but it is really hard to decide!

    • Thanks, Flo! 🙂
      I’ve got Lea, Marinette, Sienna, Kanani, Noelle, Arista, and Cecile (in a couple of days!). It IS hard to let them go! I felt kind of guilty when I was selling Isabelle! But at the same time, I knew whoever bought her would put her to better use than keeping her hidden all the time like I had been.

  2. Nice outfits! Both dolls are so cute and congrats on getting Cecile! Good for you for knowing when it’s time to let a doll go..that’s something I really need to work on. 🙂 It’s all about quality and enjoyment, rather than collecting just so you “have it”!

    • Thank you! Yeah, it’s definitely something I’ve had to work on over the years. When I used to collect My Little Pony stuff, I felt like I had to get everything, and then I realized the items I didn’t like as much just took up valuable room. I still struggle a little when it’s something that was a gift.

Leave a Reply

