The Return of 1904

We made it! The wait is over and BeForever is here!

The Good FREAKING AWESOME!

Three words: ICE. CREAM. PARLOR.

TysonsIceCreamParlor

“Have you ever seen anything so wonderful in your entire life!?” – Ariel, the OG hoarder of neat things

The first time I saw this set, my inner ten year old absolutely lost her shit. Like, I’ve been impressed by some of the other big ticket AG items, like Caroline’s parlor, but this way surpasses everything else for me. I think I love it so much because it reminds me a LOT of the Gibson Girl Ice Cream Parlor at Disneyland.

GibsonGirlDLP

The Gibson Girl in Disneyland Paris might be the closest to Samantha’s – lots of gold, white, pink, and marble!

…I’ve noticed that anything I really, really love can usually be traced back to something related to Disney. Oh well.

I think it’s safe to say that the vast majority of AG collectors are smitten with the ice cream parlor. I do think it might’ve been nicer had they offered a separate set of ice cream treats (different from the parlor’s) so that if you couldn’t afford the parlor (price or space-wise), you could at least still have the option to partake in the desserts.

 

The Bad

I don’t know whether to call this “bad” or “sad”… A lot of people have noticed some not-so-long lost Marie-Grace and Cecile collection items being re-purposed into different time periods. MG’s parasol is now part of Samantha’s collection, and MG and C’s banquet table…

MGTable

has been turned into…
CarolineTable

Caroline’s impromptu table and treats because nevermind the war, let’s par-tay.


Admittedly, I haven’t read Caroline’s stories yet, but from what I know of them, it seems like a lot of crazy stuff is going down (like, say, the WAR of 1812), so is it really the time for feasting? Like, “Yes, Papa is in danger, but these tarts are perilously close to getting stale!” Maybe not so much. I’m not sure if the table covering was made to be more historically accurate or not, but it doesn’t look like as much thought was put into its design compared to the original. Then again, neither do the mismatched dishes, so… yeah… Anyway! Still not as much of a problem as –

 

The Ugly

I’m sorry… I’ve looked at it and looked at it, and I can’t find anything I really like about this coat – even if it does remind me of something Disney-related…

UglyCoat

“I don’t care how you kill the little beasts, just do it and do it now!”

I can’t unsee the Cruella. I knew they’d never re-release her old cape, but man, was it pretty! Maybe it would’ve been too much plaid in combination with Samantha’s new Christmas dress, but a deeper red or a rich green or navy? I’m also curious how many moms saw this coat and thought “That’ll be dirty in 5 minutes…”

New Samantha

I think Samantha’s really cute – they’ve done a really great job reintroducing her, while making her stand out from her previous versions… but now that she is out and the internets are filled with pictures and videos of her, I’ve made a rather surprising discovery. I think I may have liked her for her clothes haha… Her new meet dress has grown on me, but I really did like her original meet outfit. Like with Ruthie, I think she’s really cute, but I feel like I’d rather wait for another doll that I’d want more instead of adding her to my collection. So, for now, Caroline’s my 1904 stand in. I don’t know what it is, but I really like her in that time period!

CarolineSam

Something about Caroline and nautical stuff… 😉

It’ll be interesting to see what’s released next in the world of BeForever. And in the meantime, I’m hoping for more leaks… hehehe…

JenniferSig

Leave a Reply

