Curly Ponytails for Hot Weather

It’s been annoyingly hot over the past few days – and even hotter inside our lovely little poorly insulated abode.

But when life gives you lemons, use the heat to curl your doll’s hair! (That’s how the saying goes, right?)

curlyMGIt’s too hot for long hair!

I found this great tutorial on YouTube awhile back and decided the heat might help the curling process, so why not!

One of Christian Tamez’s fantastic American Girl doll videos.

curlyMG2Loose, lovely curls

 

Her hair actually looks a lot like mine, now! She just needs some side-swept bangs and light brown eyes… which I have been tempted to add to her, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. Something about pouring boiling water in a doll’s head and popping her eyeballs out just… I’m too chicken haha.

Anyway! I think her curls will eventually relax away, but I might try again with tighter curls, more water, and waiting longer before I take the bobby pins out. Not bad for a first try, though!

It’s times like this I’m definitely glad I bit the bullet and undid Marie-Grace’s intense hairstyle (and straightened the kinky, frizzy mess that ensued…).

JenniferSig

Leave a Reply

